Anti-Corruption Bureau

Anti-Corruption Bureau

The Anti Corruption bureau was established in 2016.  The bureau comes under the Department of Personnel & Administrative Reforms of Karnataka State Government.  It is headed by a senior IPS officer.  The bureau is divided into 7 ranges in the State.  Those are the Central Range, Southern Range, Eastern Range, Western Range, Northern Range, North-East Range, Bellari Range.  The police Inspectors are given rights to investigate the offences under the Prevention of Corruption Act.

The Anti-Corruption Bureau is an agency which is responsible for collecting intelligence reports pertaining to corruption, and having liaison with the different Government Departments through Vigilance Officers, attending to complaints about bribery and corruption, investigating the offences and prosecuting the same to prevent corruption.  In order to effectively tackle the menace of corruption in Governance, the Government of Karnataka has established Anti-Corruption Bureau.

This bureau attends to all cases registered under the provisions of Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988.  Based on the information received by various agencies the bureau conducts enquries.

The media helps in uncovering irregularities in different departments.  The Anti corruption bureau needs help from the citizens and from the media in identifying corrupt public servants, and their brokers.

Anybody can give a complaint or pass information to the ACB.  Anybody can contact the nearest ACB official in person or through telephone/emails.  The complainant will be rewarded suitably depending on the merits of the case.

Citizens are requested to join their hands with Anti-Corruption Bureau to bring greater transparency in Government functioning and making Karnataka a corruption-free State.


Leave Your Comment