Dasarahalli suffers water pipeline work

Dasarahalli suffers water pipeline work

Dasarahalli residents are suffering from past one year as roads are dug up to lay water pipeline.

The Bangalore Water Supply and Sewage Board has dug up roads nine months back to lay water pipeline.  The areas affected under Dasarahalli  constituency are MHR, MEI, AGB and Kirloaskar layouts.

The water pipeline laying is progressing very slowly.  The project was taken up to supply cauvery water to 110 villages.  The cost of the project is Rs.296.38 crore.

The roads dug up for laying water pipelines have not yet been restored.  Dasarahalli constituency is facing a  severe garbage disposal problem and also overflowing drainage lines.

The areas is covered with dust, damaged roads and potholes.  Even walking has become a challenge with the floating dust.

Dasarahalli constituency:

The state government brought 110 villages, or five zones -Mahadevapura, Rajarajeshwari Nagar, Dasarahalli, Byatarayanapura and Bommanahaklli -under the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP)

Dasarahalli is relatively a new constituency was formed during the 2007 delimitation exercise and went to its first polls in 2008. With eight wards including Peenya Industrial Area and T Dasarahalli, the constituency has a lot of villages.

The Dasarahalli constituency has a high floating population. Basic necessities such as drinking water and sanitation have not been provided to the lakhs of people residing in these areas.

Residents demand that water scarcity, traffic snarls, garbage management and lack of footpaths are to be tackled on priority.

The area is also suffering from shortage of medical facility.

According to the residents there is no coordination and accountability between the civic agencies.  The laying of water pipeline work by BWSSB is taking so long.  The area is reeling under water scarcity.

The water pipeline work started in 2017 to cover 110 villages totaling to 2600 kms. The officials of BWSSB states that 80% of work is completed.  Once the balance work is done the road repair work will commence.  The officials are proposing to finish the work by May 2019.


Ayyappa Temple@Jalahalli-Dasarahalli

Ayyappa Temple@Jalahalli-Dasarahalli

Dasarahalli is the name of multiple localities in Karnataka Tumkur road Dasarahalli or Peenya Dasarahalli was a former City Municipal Council, but now it’s officially one of the zones of BBMP. This constituency has 8 wards.  The notable landmark of this constituency is the Ayyappan temple at Jalahalli.

 Ayyappan Temple at Jalahalli:

 The sphere of influence of Lord Ayyappa had spread beyond the boundaries of Kerala and New Ayyappan temples had started springing up at various places not only in the other States of the South and north India but even in other countries also.  The first such shrine to Lord Ayyappa was built out of Kerala is the Jalahalli temple at Bengaluru.

 This is the first Ayyappa Temple of Karnataka.  The temple is situated on Subroto Mukherji Road at Jalahalli West, about one KM northwards from 12th KM stone at Jalahalli Cross on Bengaluru-Pune NH.

Devotees consider this Ayyappa Temple as the Sabarimala of Karnataka.  This is one of the busiest temples in Karnataka with daily poojas and other activities. Here the installation ceremony was conducted in the year 1967. On all 365 days, the temple provides annadhanam to its devotees.  Other attractions of this temple includes Sree Ayyappa Educational Charitable Trust, Sree Ayyappa Medical Centre and 2 schools.

The new Sreekovil is in the model of Sabarimala Sreekovil for Lord Ayyappa. New sub-shrines were also built for Lord Ganesha, Devi Durga, Lord Subramanian, Navagrahas and Nagadevathas. The re-installation ceremony of Lord Ayyappa, Lord Ganapathy and Devi Durga were performed on 26th April 2004 and Lord Subramanian in 2005 by the then Chief Priest of Holy Sabarimala Late Brahmasree Thazhaman Madham Neelakantararu Thanthri. Navagraha prathishta was peformed on 8th June 2006 by Brahmasree Thazhaman Madhom Rajeevaru Thanthri. New Valiyambalam, Vilakkumadam, Balikkalppura and Thidappalli were also built. Kumbhabhishekam of New Rajagopuram in traditional Kerala style and new Teakwood Dhwajasthambham with Gold covering was also performed, making this Temple entirely built on aesthetical Vaastu style, as designed by Vaastu exponent Cheruvalli Narayanan Namboodiri. Marvellous workmanship of expert wood and Stone Master Craftsmen can been seen in every structure of this renovated Temple. The wood work is done with special teak wood from world famous Nilambur forests and stone work is done with special ‘Krishnasila’.

Ayyappa temple in Jalahalli have an elephant named Girija Prasad alias Manikantan. In 2000 a devotee from Kerala, Jacob Abraham, gifted the elephant to the Ayyappa Temple at Jalahalli. Subsequently, the Forest Department issued a certificate of ownership to the temple. The temple and the elephant became so famous devotees from near and far came to Jalahalli in Bengaluru to have a darshan of the deity as well as the elephant, and the animal attained the status of an icon for the temple.