Sub-urban rail Project – Bengaluru

Sub-urban rail Project – Bengaluru

Sub-urban rail gets Rs.6700 crore push from government during Lok Sabha 2019 poll year.

The Central government of India has announced biggest concession towards the coalition led government in Karnataka.  Land worth Rs. 6700 crore was given virtually free for the suburban rail project.

The Rail minister announced that the project will be ready within six years from the date of commissioning.

More than 9 lakh people are estimated to use the sub-urban rail in the city by 2025 every day. The study was conducted by the Rail India Technical and Economic service.

Sub-urban rail project at Bengluru :

Commuter rail also called suburban rail is a passenger rail transport service that primarily operates between a city centre and middle to outer suburbs. 

This may be beyond 15 km (10 miles) and commuter towns or other locations that draw large numbers of commuters—people who travel on a daily basis.

In a joint press conference alongside Chief Minister Kumaraswamy, Piyush Goyal said the long awaited sub-urban rail network which connects 82 stations spread over 160 km costing Rs.23,000 crore will be completed in six years.

Sub-urban rail – Piyush chawla:

Indian Railway minister Piyush Chawla announced this surprise after he had a meeting with Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy.

Previously the Railway Board had rejected the State Governments condition that the railway land be given to the state on lease at a cost  of Re.1  per acre for sub-urban rail project. 

The state officials had said that the railway officials had agreed for the land lease previously at a nominal rate of Re.1/- per acre.

The Railway Minister’s gesture will give a positive image to the BJP party after the audio-gate scandal in the State.    The Railway Ministry is sharing half of the cost of sub-urban rail project and also providing land free of cost. 

Areas covered by Sub-urban rail :

The 160 km of rail tracks will primarily cover four corridors :

  1.  Kengeri – Benglauru cantonment – Whitefiled route
  2. Bengaluru City – Yelahanka – Rajankunti
  3. Nelamangala – Mathikere – Biyyappanahalli
  4. Heelalige – Yelahanka – Devanahalli near the airport.

To know more about read :

Leave Your Comment