Anantha Kumar


Ananth Kumar (born 22 July 1959 to H N Narayan Sastry and Girija Shastry at Bangalore) is an Indian politician belonging to the BJP. He is holding charge of two key ministries – serving as Union Minister of chemicals and Fertilizers since May 2014 and as Minister of Parliamentary Affairs since July 2016 in the 16th Lok Sabha. He has handled various ministries like Tourism, Sports & Youth Affairs, Culture, Urban Development and Poverty Alleviation.

Elected From Bangalore South.

Education– B.A., L.L.B educated at K.S.Arts College, Hubballi, J.S.S.Law College, Hubballi, Karnataka

Positions Held

1982-1985 Secretary, ABVP, Karnataka
1985-1987 National Secretary, ABVP
1987-1988 Secretary, BJP, Karnataka
1988-1995 General Secretary, Karnataka
1995-1998 National Secretary, BJP
1996 Elected to 11th Lok Sabha
1996-97 Member-Consultative Committee, Ministry of Industry, Member-Standing committee, Ministry of
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
Mar.1998-Oct.1999 Union Cabinet Minister, Civil Aviation
Jan.1999-Oct.1999 Additional Charge, Ministry of Tourism
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
13.10.1999-02.02.2000 Union Cabinet Minister, Culture, Youth Affairs and Sports
02.02.2000-01.09.2001. Union Cabinet Minister, Tourism and Culture
01.09.2001-Jul.2003 Union Cabinet Minister, Urban Development & Poverty Alleviation with Additional charge of Rural Development (from 6th April 2003 – 24th May 2003)
26.06.2003 President, Bharatiya Janata Party, Karnataka
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (4th term)
Aug.2004 – 8.03.2007 Chairman-Standing committee on coal & Steel, Member-General purposes committee,
01.11.2004-May 2014 National General Secretary, BJP, Member & Secretary – BJP Parliamentary Board, Member & Secretary – BJP Central Election Committee
2005 Member-Joint Committee on Office of Profit
09.03.2007 Chairman-Standing Committee on Finance, Member-Business Advisory Committee
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)
31.08.2009-05.05.2010 Chairman-Standing Committee on Chemicals & Fertilizers
23.09.2009 Member-Committee of Privileges, Member-Rules Committee, Member-Business Advisory Committee
07.05.2010 – 2014 Chairman, Standing Committee on External Affairs
May 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (6th term)
27.05.2014-05.07.2016 Union Cabinet Minister, Chemicals and Fertilizers
June 2014 Member-BJP Central Election Committee, Member-BJP Parliamentary Board
05.07.2016 Onwards Union Cabinet Minister, Chemicals and Fertilizers and Parliamentary Affairs

As Member of the Indian Parliamentarian delegation to 67th UN General Assembly – Was the first Indian to address the U.N.G.A. in Kannada on 16th October, 2012. Participated in J.P. Movement against Emergency Rule in India, 1975-77; detained for about 40 days; Founder President – Aerospace Museum Society, Bangalore, April, 1999; State Convenor – (i) Save Assam Movement, Karnataka, 1983; (ii) International Youth Year, 1985; and (iii) R.S.S. sponsored Drought Relief Committee, Karnataka, 1986; Organiser – State and national level conferences and study camps; Convenor for many State and University level agitations; Member – (i) Member of the delegation to The United States of America with Shri Narendra Modi, 1993; (ii) Central Silk Board, 1996-97; (iii) Indian Parliamentary Delegation to UNESCO, 1996; (iv) Young Parliamentarian Conference, 1997; (v) Governing Council, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, 1996-98 and 2004-09; (vi) Infrastructure Task Force, November 1988; (vii) Indian Parliamentary Delegation to China; (viii) Vice Chairman ABIDe (Agenda for Bangalore Infrastructure Development) 2008-2010; (ix) Vice-President – The Council Of World Affairs, 7 May, 2010 onwards (x) Press Council of India, 16 June, 2010 onwards; (xi) Indian-Portugal Parliamentary Friendship Group, 29 July, 2010 onwards; and (xii) NIMHANS, 16th August 2013 onwards.