Mallikarjuna Kharge


Mapanna Mallikarjun Kharge (born 21 July 1942 to Shri. Mapanna Kharge and Smt. Saibavva Kharge)) is an Indian politician and the leader of the INC in the 16th Lok Sabha. He has won elections for a record 10 consecutive times having won the Assembly elections for an unprecedented 9 consecutive times (1972, 1979, 1983, 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2004, 2008, 2009) and the recent General Elections from Gulbarga.
He has been nominated as the leader of the congress party in Lok Sabha against Narendra Modi led NDA government.

Elected From Gulbarga.

Education–  B.A., L.L.B educated at Government Arts & Science College, Gulbarga and S.S.Law College, Gulbarga

Positions Held

1969 President, Gulbarga City Congress Committee, Karnataka
1972-2009 Member, Karnataka State Legislative Assembly (9 terms)
1976-78 Minister of State, Primary and Secondary Education, Govt. of Karnataka
1979 Cabinet Minister, Rural Development & Panchayati Raj, Govt. of Karnataka
1980-83 Cabinet Minister, Revenue, Govt. of Karnataka
1983 Secretary, Congress Legislature Party, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1985 Deputy Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1988-89 Vice-President, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee
1990-92 Cabinet Minister, Co-operation, Medium and Large Industries, Govt. of Karnataka
1992-94 Cabinet Minister, Home, Infra-structure, Development and Minor Irrigation, Govt. of Karnataka
1996-99 Leader, Congress Legislature Party & Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1999-2004 Cabinet Minister, Home, Infrastructure Development and Minor Irrigation, Govt. of Karnataka
2004-2006 Cabinet Minister, Water Resources and Transport, Govt. of Karnataka
2005 President, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee
2008-2009 Leader of Congress Legislature Party and Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
2009 Elected to 15th Lok Sabha
31.05.2009 – 17.06.2013 Union Cabinet Minister, Labour and Employment
17.05.2013 – 26.05-2014 Union Cabinet Minister, Railways and Social Justice and Empowerment (Additional charge)
May 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (2nd term). A leader of the Congress Parliamentary party
13.06.2014 onwards Member, Standing committee on Home Affairs
01.09.2014 onwards Member, Standing committee on Home Affairs
08.10.2014 onwards Member, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Maintenance of heritage character and Development of Parliament
20.10.2014 Member of national committee (NC) for commemorating the 125th Birth Anniversary of Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru
29.01.2015 onwards Member, General Purposes Committee Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Defence.
01.05.2017 onwards Chairperson, Public Accounts Committee Member, Committee on Budget of Lok Sabha.

Founder President of Karnataka Peoples Education Society, Gulbarga (till 2012). Founder President of Siddhartha Vihar Trust Gulbarga (till 2012). Patron, Chowdaiah Memorial Hall, Bangalore which is one of the premier Concert Halls and Theatre venues in Bangalore. President of Siddhartha Education Society, Tumkur from 1974 – 1996. Instrumental in opening of Medical and Technical institutions in Karnataka.