K H Muniyappa


K.H. Muniyappa (born 7 March 1948 to Late Shri.Hanumappa and Late Smt.Venkatamma) is a member of the 16th Lok Sabha of India.He has consecutively represented the Kolar constituency of since 1991 and is a member of the INC. He was the Union Minister of State (Independent charge) of Minister of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises

Elected From Kolar.

Education– B.A. graduate with L.L.B., Doctorate (Honorary) Educated at Bangalore university, Honorary Doctorate awarded by Gulbarga Univresity

Positions Held

1969 onwards Vice-Convenor-Congress (I) Scheduled Caste (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST) Cell,
Distt. Kolar, Karnataka
1978-1983 Vice-President, Taluk Development Board, Sidlaghatta, Distt. Kolar Karnataka
1991 Elected to 10th Lok Sabha, Member – Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC)(I), Legal Cell – Karnataka, Member-Executive Committee, PCC(I) SC and ST Cell, Karnataka, Vice-President, Taluk Congress (I) Committee, Sidklaghatta Distt. Kolar, Karnataka, Member – District Congress Committee (DCC) (I) Distt, Kolar, Karnataka, Member-Food and Civil Supplies (Eradication of Adulteration Committee) distt.Kolar, Karnataka
1994 Joint Secretary-All India Congress Committee (AICC)
1996 Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1996-1997 Member-Standing committee on Industry, Member-Consultative Committee, Ministry of Welfare
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (4th term)
1999-2000 Member-Standing Committee on Industry
2003-2004 Member-Congress Working Committee (Special Invitee)
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (5th term)
23.05.2004 Union Minister of State, Ministry of Shipping, Road Transport & Highways
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (6th term)
2009 – 28.10.2012 Union Minister of State, Railways
28.10.2012 Union of State (Independebt Charge) Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (7th term)
14.08.2014 – 30.04.2017 Member-Committee on Estimates
01.09.2014 onwards Member-Standing Committee on Railways
12.12.2014 onwards Member-Panel of Chairpersons, Lok Sabha
29.01.2015 onwards Member-General Purposes Committee
03.07.2015 Member-Sub-Committee-III, Committee on Estimates
25.08.2015 Convenor-Sub-committee of the Committee on Estimates on the subject ‘ Panchayati Raj’
1978-1983 Vice-President, Taluk Development Board, Sidlaghatta, Distt. Kolar Karnataka

Director – Gramin Bank, Distt. Kolar; President – (i) Arundhathi Education Trust, Bangalore; and (ii) Dr. Ambedkar Consumers Co-operative Society Ltd., Melur, Distt. Kolar; Founder – (i) Harijan and Girijan Community Irrigation Well Co-operative Society Ltd., Kambadahalli, Distt. Kolar; and (ii) Harijan and Girijan Dairy Farming Co-operative Society Ltd., Distt. Kolar, 1967; Member – (i) 20-Point Economic Programme, Taluk Sidlaghatta, Distt. Kolar, 1976; (ii) Land Grant Committee, Distt. Kolar; (iii) Relief Committee, Distt. Kolar, 1976; and (iv) Central Silk Board, 1996-97; attended All India Harijan Conference, Andhra Pradesh Special Interests : Serving the poor
Sports and Clubs : Volleyball
Favourite Pastimes and Recreation : Listening to music on spiritual themes
Countries Visited : Member, Indian Parliamentary Delegation led by the Honble Speaker, Shri G.M.C. Balayogi, to Russia, 1998.