D V Sadananda Gowda



Devaragunda Venkappa Sadananda Gowda (born 18 March 1953 to Venkappa Gowda and Kamala of Mandekolu village ) was the 20th Chief Minister of Karnataka and is currently the Minister of Statistics and Programme Implementation in the Government of India. He represents BJP. He previously served as Minister of Law and Justice shifted from the Ministry of Railways in the cabinet reshuffle of 5 July 2016. He is a member of the 16th Lok Sabha.

Elected From Bangalore North.

Education–  Graduated in Science from the St. Philomena College, Puttur and degree in law at Udupi Vaikunta Baliga College of Law.

Positions Held

1994-2004 Member-Karnataka Legislative Assembly (2 terms)
1995-1996 Member-Cell for preparing Draft Bill on prohibiting atrocities on Women, Government of Karnataka.
1999-2004 Deputy Leader-Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
2001-2002 Member, Committee for Energy, Fuel & Power, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
2002-2003 Member-Public Undertaking committee, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
2003-2004 President, Public Accounts Committee, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
2004 Elected to 14th Lok Sabha
08.05.2004-may 2005 and May 2996-Aug.2008 Member-Standing committee on Commerce National
Secretary, BJP
18.01.2006 Member-Sub-committee of the Department Related Parliamentary Standing committee on Commerce for Special Economic Zones.
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
09.06.2009 Member-House Committee
31.08.2009 Member-Standing committee on Science and Technology, Environment & Forests
04.08.2011 – 12.07.2012 Chief Minister, Karnataka
29.12.2011 Resigned from 15th Lok Sabha
22.12.2012 – 23.05.2014 Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Council
17.05.2013 – 23.05.2014 Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Council
May 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
27.05.2014 – 09.11.2014 Union Cabinet Minister, Railways
09.11.2014-05.07.2016 Union Cabinet Minister, Law & Justice
05.07.2016 onwards Union Cabinet Minister, Statistics and Programme Implementation.

State Secretary – BJP Yuva Morcha, 1983-88; President – Karnataka Industries Staff Union, 1977-82; Assistant Public Prosecutor- 1979-82; Director – CAMPCO, Manglore, Karnataka, 1991-94; Vice-President – SCDCC Bank, Mangalore; Member – State L.D. Bank, Staff Selection Committee, 1989-90;