Coalition government Seat sharing – Bengaluru

Coalition government Seat sharing – Bengaluru

Coalition government seat sharing is doing rounds in Karnataka.  JD(S) asks for 12 seats and the congress sites on winnability criteria. 

JD(S) supremo Deve Gowda and Congess president Rahul Gandhi will take a final call on seat-sharing.

Winnability criteria – Coalition government :

Karnataka’s ruling coalition government partners, the Congress and the JD(S), began the first round of discussions on seat-sharing for the upcoming General elections 2019 in Karnataka.

The two allies, who had formed the coalition government after striking a post-poll alliance threw up a hung verdict, have decided to fight the parliamentary polls together under a coalition arrangement.

According to KPCC President Dinesh Gundurao, “we have discussed all 28 Lok Sabha seats.  It has been decided based pm the winnability of the candidates”.

Seat sharing by coalition government :

Seat-sharing is likely to be a major test for coalition government parties.  The JD(S) is banking on two-third, one-third formula was adopted in ministry formation and allocation of boards and corporations.  JD(S)  has demanded 10 to 12 seats out of the total 28.

The Congress is opposed to this, maintaining that sharing of seats will be based on “merit”.

There is pressure from within the Congress not to surrender too many seats to JD(S). The party workers does not want to give the ten seats where the party has sitting MPs.

Sharing of seats for coalition government for old Mysuru region is expected to be an acid test for both the parties. The JD(S) considers it as its bastion  and the Congress has its sitting members from most of the seats there.

JD(S) vs. Congress – coalition government seat sharing:

The Vokkaliga centered region of  Mandya will be another bone of contention between the coalition government partners as JD(S) plans to field Kumaraswamy’ ‘s son Nikhil from the seat that it currently holds.

The congress is getting pressure within the party to field Smt. Sumalatha Ambareesh, wife of late actor-turned-politician M.H. Ambareesh from there.

JD(S) supremo announced Madhu Bangarappa’s name as his party’s candidate from Shimoga Lok Sabha Constituency.  He is the first candidate announced by the coalition partners.

The Shimoga Lok Sabha set is presently held by B.Y.Raghavendra, son of B.S.Yeddyurappa.

The grand old party of Congress is under pressure from its party workers not to surrender the seats to the JD(S).

Leave Your Comment