Seat sharing – Lok sabha elections 2019

Seat sharing bickering has started in Karnataka.  JD(S) Demands 12 Lok Sabha Seats in Karnataka; Congress Says ‘No Confusion’ in Seat-sharing.

Deve Gowda said the seat sharing will be on a 2:1 formula. According to which, 11 seats should come to the JD(S). The party was seeking one extra seat, noting that differences, if any, would be sorted out after discussion with Congress president.

Pressure on both parties – seat sharing :

The congress party is under immense pressure to finalize  the list of the candidates  for the upcoming lok sabha elections 2019. 

Karnataka has 28 seats out of which BJP is currently holding 16, congress with 10 and JD(S) 2 numbers.

The blueprint for seat-sharing would first be discussed at the state level by the coalition coordination committee.  The committee will be chaired by senior Congress leader Siddaramaiah and then will be finalized by the heads of both the parties. 

Seat sharing basis :

 After the formation of the coalition government, the formula of 2:1 was adopted in allocating portfolios, boards and corporations. Naturally, the same formula will apply to Lok Sabha seats.

According to the formula, 11 seats should come to the JD(S) and the party was seeking one extra seat.

Many congress leaders expressed concern over confusion among workers of both parties.  The coalition duo face the poll as allies.  But they have their eyes definitely on some seats.

Decision on seat sharing in the Lok Sabha elections:

Sharing of seats in old Mysuru is not favorite to both the parties.  JD(S) has set eyes on Tumakkuru and Chikkaballapura which are currently represented by the Congress.  But the congress party is in no mood to part with these seats.

The congress is ready to forgo Bengaluru North to JD(S), if JD(S) supremo H.D.Deve Gowda decides to contest from there.  However finalization of tickets will depend on the seat sharing agreement between the alliance partners.

No Support :

The congress party has decided not to extend support to Smt. Sumalatha Ambareesh and actor Prakash Raj if they contest independently.  Mandya is a JD(S) stronghold.  Smt. Sumalatha Ambareesh is being under pressure to contest from Mandya. 

Prakash Raj has announced that he is contesting from Bengaluru Central.  But Bengaluru Central has many ticket aspirants from congress.  As Prakash raj has sought congress support, the party may not field a candidate against him.

The political weather in India is going to be the hottest like never before as we go for the national election.

Leave Your Comment