Ramesh Chandappa Jigajnagi

Ramesh Chandappa Jigajnagi


Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi (born to Sri. chandappa and Smt. Bouramma in

Atharga village of Bijapur. He was a Union Minister of State for Drinking

Water and Sanitation. He was member of the 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th and 16th

Lok Sabha. He is a member of the BJP. He is a sitting MP from Bijapur.

Born In: 28/06/1952

Total votes polled – 11,11,354 votes
Winner : Ramesh Jigajinagi (BJP) Total Votes – 6,35,867
Loser : Sunita Chavan (JD-S) Total Votes – 3,77,829
Margin votes – 2,58,038

Ramesh Chandappa Jigajnagi



S.B.New Arts College, Bijapur.

Political Career

1983-98 Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly (three terms)
1983-98 Minister of State, Home, Excise, Social Welfare and Revenue, Government of Karnataka
1998 Elected to 12th Lok Sabha
1998-99 Member, Standing Committee on Home Affairs and its Sub-Committee on Personnel Policy of Central Para-Military Forces (CPMFs)
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
2002 Member, Standing Committee on Human Resource Development
2003-04 Member, Standing Committee on Food, Consumer Affairs & Public Distribution
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 3rd term)
2008 Member, Committee on Government Assurances
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (4th term)
2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (5th term)
2014-16 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of External Affairs and Overseas Indian Affairs
2016 Union Minister of State, Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation
2019 MP Contesting from Bijapur for 2019 Loksabha Election.

Total assets

Assets ( Including that of wife ): Rs Crore
Liabilities ( Including that of wife ): Rs Crore

More details

Manifesto for Bijapur

Leave Your Comment