Shobha Karandlaje

Shobha Karandlaje


Shobha Karandlaje (born at Puttur to Late Shri. Monappa Gowda and Smt.

Poovakka) is a member of the 17th Lok Sabha representing Udupi-Chickmagalur

for BJP. She was a cabinet minister in the Government of Karnataka. She was

lauded for her performance as the RDPR minister and came to be known as a

good administrator. She is a sitting MP from Udupi Chikkamagalore.

Born In: 23/10/1966

Total votes polled – 11,51,012 votes
Winner : Shobha karandlaje (BJP) Total votes – 7,18,916
Loser : Pramod Madhwaraj (JD-S) Total votes – 3,69,317
Margin – 3,49,599 votes

Shobha Karandlaje


M.A., M.S.W

Mysore and Mangalore University.

Political Career

1994 She started her political career with Shakuntala Shetty
2004 She served the BJP organisation in various capacities before being elected as an MLC
2008 She was elected as MLA from Yeswanthpur, Bangalore
2008 She was appointed as the minister for rural development and Panchayat Raj
2014 She contested the Indian general election, from Udupi Chikmagalur (Lok Sabha constituency)
2019 MP Contesting from Udupi Chikmagalur for 2019 Loksabha Election.

Total assets

Assets ( Including that of wife ): Rs 7.21 Crore
Liabilities ( Including that of wife ): Rs 3.81 Crore

More details

Manifesto for Udupi/Chikamagalur

Leave Your Comment