12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL)

12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL)

The 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is all set to commence from 23rd March 2019. Even though the full IPL schedule is not out, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have already started to groom their players for the upcoming season. While the senior players busy with their international commitments, the RCB have focused attention towards the young national players.

RCB’s domestic players set to undergo Yo-Yo test at conditioning camp

After finishing sixth in the IPL points table last season, RCB’s performance has gone downhill since 2016. However, RCB will be hoping for an improvement from its domestic players in the forthcoming season.

Along these lines, RCB organized a five-day conditioning camp for the players who are available in Bengaluru for the same. The camp began on 3rd February and stretched through 5 days at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium.

The conditioning camp chiefly focused on vigorous fitness drills for conditioning and strengthening of the players for better performances. The fitness regime also included the yo-yo test that evaluates an individual’s aerobic endurance fitness.

The players were under the guidance of experienced trainers like A I Harsha, Evan Speechly and Shravan Kumbagowdana. Chief Coach Gary Kirsten and Bowling Coach Ashish Nehra were in-charge to supervise the progress of the players and to get a close look at their fitness.

RCB sweat it out ahead of the new season

The camp was primarily joined by eight of RCB’s domestic players including Ranji Trophy top run-scorer Milind Kumar, 16-year old Bengal prodigy Prayas Ray Burman, who got into the limelight with eleven dismissals in nine matches in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, Mumbai’s all-rounder Shivam Dube, right-handed batsman and Uttar Pradesh’s captain Akshdeep Nath, talented Delhi seamer Kulwant Khejroliya, who made his List A debut for Delhi in the 2016–17 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Here is the complete list of 8 players that joined RCB conditioning camp ahead of IPL 2019 – Washington Sundar, Akshdeep Nath, Devdutt Padikkal, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Himmat Singh, Kulwant Khejroliya, Milind Kumar, Prayas Ray Barman, Shivam Dube

Thanks to Harsal Nagarkar

Leave Your Comment