India clinched 6 gold medals in Cycling at Track Asia Cup 2018

India clinched 6 gold medals in Cycling at Track Asia Cup 2018

The 5th edition of Track Asia Cup 2018 organized by Cycling Federation of India started off at Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium, New Delhi on Friday, 21st September. Participants from 12 countries competed in this enthralling cycling event which is not only the qualifying event for World Cup and World championship, but also for 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

On 1st day India could only have a marginal lead above the Indonesian team presented an exciting show of talent. But on the successive days the hosting team took significant steps towards the championship and earned 1 Gold and 2 Silver medals. .

In Men Junior 3 km Individual Pursuit final, India’s Bilal Ahmed secured silver with a timing of 3:28.903s, this was his second silver of Track Asia Cup. While Kazakhstan’s Danil Pekhotin won his second gold of this tournament clocking 3:28.273s. Sainca won the bronze of this event.

A big surprise when Junior Cyclist E. Chaoba Devi of Sainca won over India’s favourite Nayana Rajesh P in Women Elite 3 km Individual Pursuit finals. Subarna Barma from Bangladesh won the bronze in this event. Chaoba Devi expressed her happiness on winning the gold. She said that “I’m doing training for 7 hours on daily basis and very glad that the hard work paid off. My sole aim to represent and win medals for the country”.

In the Women Junior 2 km. Individual Pursuit, India’s Swasti Singh won the gold medal with a timing of 2:41.123 s and an average speed of 89.37 km per hour. Danamma Chinchakh from SAINCA secured the silver medal with an average speed of 73.9 km per hour. Before this tournament, Danamma won bronze medal in the Asian championship in Point race event.

In Men Elite Scratch Race of 15 kms. Thurakit Boonratanathanakorn and Patompob Phonarjthan from Thailand won gold and silver medals respectively. Ryan James from Netherlands won the bronze.

The Men Elite 4 km Individual Pursuit final saw Hong Kong’s Siu Woi winning the gold. While Ryan James of Netherlands grabbed silver, his second medal of the day, Yuttana Mano of Thailand got Bronze.

India won the top spot by bagging 6 gold medals, 5 silver and 2 bronze. The Indonesian team secured the second place with 4 gold, 3 silver and 1 bronze while Hong Kong came third by winning 4 gold and 2 bronze.

Congratulations to all the participants and winners.  We are proud of your achievement.


Leave Your Comment