The Karnataka Premier League is an Indian Twenty 20 cricket league established by the Karnataka State Cricket Association in August 2009. The KPL is a commercially scaled down version of the Indian Premier League. KPL is approved by the BCCI.  The objective of the KPL is to provide an opportunity for young cricket talent in the land of Karnataka and to show their skills in cricket in one of the most compelling formats of the sport.  The league, one of the oldest in India, has been a launch-pad for numerous names who have gone on to play at the National and International level.

The Karnataka Premier League 2018, powered by Lakshmi Vilas Bank is back with its VII edition.  It is one of the best local league.  Star Sports will continue as its official broadcaster this season also as last season they got a 220% jump in viewership.  The anthem of KPL will be ‘a great emotive way to connect’.   A pool of players, consisting of 241 players, will be available for auction on July 21. Robin Uthappa is to be part of auction.

 This years tournament starts in August/September in Bengaluru.   The KPL 2018 will be played over a span of 19 days and features total 24 matches which will be played at Mysuru, Huballi and Bengaluru.  The matches will be played in Bengaluru’s iconic M Chinnaswamy Stadium, the KSCA Rajnagar Stadium in Hubbali and the SDNR Wadiyar Cricket Stadium in Mysuru.   The Finals will be played at Mysuru.   The activities of the Anti-Corruption Unit (ACU) are outsourced to a fully accredited agency in this season.

This 2018 edition of the game will be a tribute to Late Sri. Srikandadatta Wadiyar of Mysuru, former KSCA President and Brijesh Patel, Former KSCA Secretary.  They are known as the architects of the KPL tournament.

The well known KPL attracts premium sponsorship with Karbonn Smartphones as their title sponsorship.  The other sponsors are Cycle Pure Agarabatti, Fast Track Reflect 2.0 and Vimal along with Lakshmi Vilas Bank coming in as Powered by Panthers.

The Seventh edition of KPL will provide the State’s budding cricketers another platform to establish their credentials in the world of professional cricket, with the IPL and the Indian Team beckoning.  The teams which are participating for the title are :

  • Bijapur Bulls
  • Belagavi Panthers
  • Bellary Tuskers
  • Hubli Tigers
  • Mysore Warriors
  • Namma Shivamogga
  • Kalyani Blasters Bengaluru



Vinaykumar another milestone

Leave Your Comment