Ranji trophy: Nischal, Sharath’s tons life Karnataka

Ranji trophy: Nischal, Sharath’s tons life Karnataka

Nischal and Sharath pulled Karnataka in Ranji Trophy.  Contrasting centuries by opener D. Nischal ( 111, 339b, 10×4) and debutant wicketkeeper B.R. Sharath (103, 161b, 20×4) and the duo’s 160 run partnership for the 6th wicket kicked off Karnataka’s Ranji Trophy campaign by ensuring at least three points versus defending champion Vidarbha.

On a penultimate day at the Vidarbha Cricket Association stadium, Nischal and Sharath helped Karnataka overtake Vidarbha’s first innings total of 307 and captain R. Vinay Kumar, batting stiff neck, ensuring a healthy 71-run lead for the visiting team.

The fightback of Karnataka

After two middling days, Karnataka on Wednesday (November 14) came up with a determined effort that ensured them at least of first innings lead against Vidarbha on the third day of their Ranji Trophy Elite Group A fixture at the VCA stadium here.

Nischal and Sharath, the more aggressive of the duo, added a fine 240 runs for the sixth wicket that might have just turned this match decisively in favor of Karnataka.

The young wicketkeeper became only the ninth Karnataka batsman to score a hundred on first-class debut. More importantly, his hundred, combined with a 160-run partnership with D.Nischal, gave Karnataka the vital lead against defending champion Vidarbha in its Ranji Trophy opener.

Two lucky dismissals –a rough call by umpire Rajeev Godara to uphold a caught-behind appeal against Sanjay Ramaswamy and Captain Faiz Fazal’s run out – in the last session meant Vidarbha still has to work hard to avoid an outright defeat.

Veteran Wasim Jaffer and seasoned pro-Ganesh Satish may have helped Vidarbha wipe off the deficit but with the team leading by a solitary run, the duo will have to dig out in the morning to take the team to safety.

The day belonged to the young duo with different styles of batting.  While Nischal continued his dogged defence to frustrate the bowlers, Sharath continued his boundary spree.

Ranji centuries on debut for Karnataka:

125 runs  K.Ganapathy Rao v/s Kerala – 1957

104 runs  PR Ashokanand v/s Kerala – 1958

101* runs YB Patel v/s Hyderabad – 1961

108 runs S.Krishna v/s Kerala – 1961

230 runs G.R.Vishwanath v/s Andhra – 1967

110 runs M.Vijay v/s Goa – 1988

174 runs S.Sriram v/s Tamil Nadu – 1996

106 runs B.Rowland v/s Kerala – 1999

103 runs BR Sharath v/s Vidarbha – 2018


To know more about sports news click on the link: sports bangalorean

Leave Your Comment