JD(S) Candidates list for Karnataka elections 2019

JD(S) Candidates list for Karnataka elections 2019

JD(S) candidates list is out for the general elections 2019.   The list of the candidates is under :

  1. Tumakuru –  Deve Gowda
  2. Mandya – Nikhil kumaraswmay
  3. Hassan – Prajwal Revanna
  4. Shivamogga – Madhu Bangarappa
  5. Uttara Kannada –   Anand Asnotikar
  6. Bijapur/Vijayapura – Sunitha Devanand Chavan
  7. Bengaluru north – Krishna Byre Gowda Congress MLA on JD(S) ticket
  8. Udupi/chikkamangallur – Pramod Madhwaraj

Latest News about Benglauru North :

  • Bengaluru North – JD(S) had opted for the Bengaluru North post.  But as Deve Gowda has decided to contest from Tumakuru, the seat has been returned to Congress.  AICC General Secretary and Karnataka in-charge K.C.Venugopal thanked the JD(S) for returning the seat.

Bengaluru North was among the constituencies that JD(S) supremo H D Deve Gowda was considering his candidature from. However, after much deliberation, he decided to contest from the Tumkur Lok Sabha constituency. This left his party with no other suitable candidate who could be fielded from Bangalore North. With no option in sight, it has now decided to return the seat the Congress. 

It is official that Krisha Byre Gowda of Congress will fight Sadananda Gowda for Bengaluru North seat.

Details about the JD(S) candidates :

Deve Gowda :

Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda (born 18 May 1933 to Shri Dodde Gowda and Smt. Devamma in Haradanahalli, a village in Holenarasipura taluk) is an Indian politician who served as the 11th Prime Minister of India from 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997. He was previously the 14th Chief Minister of Karnataka from 1994 to 1996. He is a member of the 16th Lok Sabha and is the National President of the Janata Das (Secular) Party.

He is a sitting MP elected From Hassan.

Education– Diploma in Civil Engineering educated at Smt. L.V. Polytechnic, Hassan.

Participated in the freedom struggle as a student leader; Member, Indian National Congress, 1952-62; imprisoned under Maintenance of Internal Security Act (MISA) during Emergency 1976; Member, (i) Taluk Development Board; and (ii) Co-operative Societies. Special Interests : Agriculture and horticulture.

Favourite Pastimes and Recreation: Reading

Countries Visited : Widely travelled; as Minister, Chief Minister, Prime Minister and as a Member, Indian Parliamentary Delegations, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, London.

Nikhil  Kumaraswamy Gowda :

Nikhil Kumar (born as Nikhil Gowda) (born 22 January 1990) is an Indian actor in Kannada nad Telugu film industry. He made his acting debut with Kannada-Telugu bilingual film Jaguar (2016). He is the son of Chief Minister of Karnataka H.D.Kumaraswamy.

Prajwal Revanna Gowda :

He is the son of Minister Revanna and Bhavani Revanna.  This is the first time he is contesting from Hassan.

Prajwal Revanna will contest against Congress revel A Manju who joined the BJP recenty.  Manju contested and lost against Deve Gowda in 2014 Lok Sabha elections and is considered close to Siddaramaiah.

Manju who expected the Congress to pick him as the candidate from Hassan was unhappy when the seat was given to the JD(S) and Prejwal Revanna was preferred instead Deve Gowda.  He was earlier with BJP before joining the Congress and rose to become a minister in the Siddaramaiah led Congress government.

Madhu Bangarappa :

Madhu Bangarappa was born to former Chief Minister of Karnataka late S.Bangarappa and late Shakuntala Bangarappa. He has an elder brother Kumar Bangarappa and 3 sisters.

S. Madhu Bangarappa was a Janata Dal (Secular) Political party Member of Legislative Assembly elected from the Sorab constituency. He is also candidate for the Shivamogga seat Lok sabha by polls 2018. 

Madhu has also produced Kannada feature films such as Belliyappa Bangarappa (1992) which were big blockbuster hits in which his brother Kumar Bangarappa has acted and co-Produced.

Sunitha Devanand Chavan:

Sunitha is Wife of JD(S) MLA Devanand Chavan. She will be fighting Ramesh Jigajinagi of BJP.

Anand Asnotikar :

He is a former BJP minister who will be fighting against Ananth Kumar Hegde of BJP.

Mr. Asnotikar was elected on Congress ticket in 2008 from Karwar, but resigned from the party and the Assembly to join the then ruling party BJP.  He became Minister of Fisheries, Science and Technology in the Cabinet.  He won subsequent bypolls from Karwar on BJP ticket, but lost during the 2013 Assembly polls.

Pramod Madhwaraj :

Pramod Malpe Madhwaraj is a Congress politician.  In June 2016 Madhwaraj was inducted into the Siddaramiah led government of Karnataka as a cabinet minister with Independent Charge. Madhwaraj holds the Youth Services Department, Fisheries from Animal Husbandry and Fisheries Department portfolio in Government of Karnataka. Madhwaraj is the 10th richest minister in India to be sworn into the Karnataka Cabinet.

He is contesting on a JD(S) ticket.

Krishna Byre Gowda :

Krishna Byre Gowda  (born 4 April 1973) is the current Minister of  Rural Development, Law and Parliamentary Affairs in the Cabinet of H.D.Kumaraswamy, and Member of Legislative Assembly of the Byatarayanapura  Constituency, in office since June 2008.

Born in Bengaluru , Krishna is a graduate from the American University in Washington and Christ College in Bengaluru. He was a project associate at the Ethiopian Embassy in Washington before earning his M.A. degree. He then worked as an agriculturalist at his family-owned farm in Kolar district between 2000 and 2002.

In 2003, he again worked as a project associate at Development Alternatives, Inc. He has served three times as an M.L.A. of Karnataka state, twice from Vemegal in Kolar district from 2003 to 2007, and from 2008 to 2013 from the Byatarayanapura Constituency in Bengaluru.